Trustee Bios

President Ruth Scribner (Area 4)

Ruth Scribner was first elected to the Board in 1996 and is a librarian and resource teacher at Franklin High School. She is the current President of the Board. She represents Area 4 residents of Laguna, Valley Hi, Pocket, Clarksburg, West Sacramento and Davis.

Serves through 2020

Vice President Pamela Haynes (Area 5)

Pamela Haynes was first appointed to the Board in 1999 and first elected in 2000. She has served three terms as President. She also serves on the Los Rios Foundation Board. She has a background in K-12 and higher education policy and economic and community development. She has consulted and provided program evaluation, technical and strategic planning assistance to non-profit and community-based organizations, foundations and labor unions. A Santa Monica City College transfer student, she has a bachelor's degree from UCLA and a master's degree in Public Administration from Harvard University. She represents Area 5 residents of South Land Park, Land Park, Curtis Park, Oak Park, College Park, Hollywood Park, Lawrence Park, Tahoe Park, Colonial Heights, Med Center, Freeport Manor, Valley Hi, Parkway, Woodbine, Golf Course Terrace, City Farms, Meadowview, Greenhaven and the Pocket areas of Sacramento.

Serves through 2020

Trustee Dustin Johnson (Area 1)

Dustin Johnson is a criminal defense attorney who was first appointed to the Board in 2009 and first elected in 2010. He served as president in 2015. He attended American River College - during which he served as Student Trustee - and he received his bachelor's degree from Sacramento State and his law degree from McGeorge School of Law. He represents Area 1 residents of the northwest part of Sacramento County, including the communities of Del Paso Heights, Natomas, North Highlands and Rio Linda.

Serves through 2018

Trustee Robert Jones (Area 2)

Robert Jones is Vice President Emeritus, California State University, Sacramento. His life-long commitment to California public higher education includes teaching American Government at San Mateo, Lassen and Shasta Community Colleges; Executive Dean at Cal State Dominguez Hills; Professor of Political Science and Assistant Dean of Students at CSU Chico; Director of Public Service for the University of California; and staff to California's Assembly Committee on Education. He has also served as a member of the Board of Directors for the Community College League of California. He completed undergraduate, graduate and advanced studies at UC Santa Barbara, Universidad Nacional de Mexico, San Francisco State University, Harvard and Contra Costa Community College. He has held professional positions with the Alaska Department of Fish and Game, The Los Angeles Olympic Organizing Committee, Peace Corps, US Office of Economic Opportunity and the International Association of University Presidents for which he was Treasurer. In the Sacramento Region he has been a trustee for the Sacramento Valley Conservancy and a member of the Capital Public Radio governing board. As a Los Rios Trustee he brings a collaborative and results oriented perspective to his responsibilities which have included President of the Board and currently a member of the Los Rios Foundation. He has a strong interest in workforce development, career education and the seamless transfer of community college students to California's colleges and universities.

Serves through 2018

Trustee John Knight (Area 3)

John Knight was first elected to the Board in 2014 to complete the remaining two years of the term of former Trustee Terry Cochran, who passed away on Feb. 14, 2014. He will be eligible to run for re-election in 2016 for a full, four-year term. Knight formerly served on the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors (2008-2012). On the Los Rios Board, he represents Area 3 residents of the city of Folsom and most of El Dorado County.

Serves through 2020

Trustee Deborah Ortiz (Area 6)

Deborah Ortiz is a native Sacramentan and health care consultant on primary care and community clinics who was first elected to the Board in 2010. She has served in many elected positions, including as a member of the Sacramento City Council, the California state Assembly and the California state Senate. She represents Area 6 residents of downtown and midtown Sacramento, East Sacramento, River Park, Campus Commons and parts of Carmichael and Rancho Cordova.

Serves through 2018

Trustee Tami Nelson (Area 7)

Tami Nelson is an English/Yearbook/AVID teacher at Joseph Kerr Middle School.  She was first elected to the board in 2016. After completing a semester of community college classes while attending high school, she completed her bachelor’s degree from Humboldt State University, her master’s at Cardiff University, and her teaching credential at Sacramento State University. She has also completed a community college faculty certificate program.  She represents Area 7 residents of Elk Grove, Florin, Sloughhouse, Jackson Road and a part of Rancho Cordova.

Serves through 2020

Student Trustee Evan Nguyen

Update In Process